Announcing the 2022 No Kid Hungry School Breakfast Heroes!

As the nation continues to grapple with the pandemic, 1 in 6 kids in Michigan could struggle with hunger and may start the school day on an empty stomach. Research shows that hunger has long-term ramifications on children, including lower test scores, weaker attendance rates, and a higher risk of hospitalizations and chronic diseases. School breakfast is a critical way to end childhood hunger. No Kid Hungry’s School Breakfast Hero award celebrates school building staff who are helping to ensure all kids in Michigan have access to healthy school breakfast. 

Please join No Kid Hungry Michigan, Milk Means More, and the Michigan Department of Education in congratulating the 2022 No Kid Hungry Michigan School Breakfast Heroes!  These schools were chosen based on the impressive increase in average daily participation percent (ADP%) when comparing breakfast participation from October 2019 to October 2021.  

In conversations with school officials, there were multiple factors that contributed to the large increase in breakfast participation. Although these factors varied based on school building and grade level, such steps like serving hot breakfast items while taking advantage of alternative breakfast models such as Breakfast in the Classroom, Grab and Go, and Second Chance Breakfast was a noted factor. Also included in driving higher participation numbers were schools and districts taking advantage of available waivers such as free breakfast for all students, allowing students to eat in non-congregate settings while also allowing them to receive multiple days of meals at a time, and having “open” meal sites available to all kids under the age of eighteen. 

Perhaps the biggest driver of increasing breakfast participation was having a highly motivated and encouraging cafeteria staff and building administration. Please join us in congratulating these 2022 No Kid Hungry School Breakfast Hero schools that truly worked so hard to ensure all Michigan students had access to a healthy breakfast! 

Below is a full list of the 2022 No Kid Hungry School Breakfast Hero Schools that are being recognized.  Each school building will receive a certificate of recognition as well as a $250 stipend to be used to celebrate staff! 

Be on the lookout for more in-depth stories to learn what these schools are doing to ensure all kids eat breakfast.  If you are interested in learning more about how you can increase breakfast participation in your school, fill out this No Kid Hungry Michigan Inquiry form and No Kid Hungry Michigan will get back to you! 



  • Summerfield Elementary School – Summerfield Schools
  • Marvin L. Winans Academy – Elementary, Detroit Public Schools Community District
  • Meryl S. Colt Early Childhood Education Center – Waverly Community Schools
  • Oakwood Elementary School – Portland Public Schools
  • Lakeville Elementary School – Oxford Community Schools
  • Morrice Area Elementary School – Morrice Area Schools
  • Ross Park Elementary School – Mona Shores Public School District
  • Hope of Detroit Academy Elementary – Hope Academy of Detroit
  • Cesar Chavez Academy Intermediate – Cesar Chavez Academy
  • Academy for Business and Technology Elementary – Academy for Business and Technology


  • Davison Alternative Education- Davison Community Schools
  • Forest Area High School – Forest Area Community Schools
  • Harbor Beach Community High School – Harbor Beach Community Schools
  • Kenowa Hills High School- Kenowa  Hills Public Schools
  • Caledonia High School – Caledonia Community Schools


  • Stephenson Area Public School 
  • Alanson Public School
  • West MI Academy of Environmental Science


  • Burr Oak Elementary School – Burr Oak Community School District
  • Knapp Charter Academy 
  • River Heights Academy
  • East Arbor Charter Academy
  • Keystone Academy
  • Grand Blanc Academy
  • South Canton Scholars Charter Academy


  • Shelby Middle School – Shelby Public Schools
  • Constantine Middle School – Constantine Public School District
  • Duncan Lake Middle School – Caledonia Community Schools
  • Cherryland Middle School – Elk Rapids Schools
  • Bridgeport-Spaulding Middle School Schrah – Bridgeport-Spaulding Community School District
  • Henry Ford Early College – Dearborn City School District
  • Detroit Academy of Arts and Sciences Middle School – Detroit Academy of Arts and Sciences


  • Career and Alternative Pathways to Education Center – Benton Harbor Area Schools
  • Morrice Area High School – Morrice Area Schools
  • Countryside Academy Middle/High School – Countryside Academy